Beauty and the Beast

Frankston Arts Centre : July 20072007.2 - Beauty and the Beast


Brief Synopsis:

After a handsome but conceited prince treats a beggar woman poorly, the woman turns out to be a beautiful enchantress and turns the prince into a beast. Further, the prince’s staff is all transformed into objects to do with their profession. The prince is given a magical mirror to view the outside world. To break the spell, he needs to learn to love a person for who they are, and get her to love him before a magical rose loses its petals. Meanwhile in a nearby village, a beautiful young bookworm (Belle) feels lonely and out of place. She lives with her eccentric but kind father, Maurice. Soon, Maurice goes off to compete at an inventors’ fair but gets lost in the woods and ends up a prisoner at the beast’s castle. Belle eventually finds the castle and makes a deal with the beast to let her father go in return for her staying there with the beast. As the beast’s inner kindness slowly reveals itself, Belle grows to be in love with him. However, a jilted, self-centered and overly-masculine suitor from Belle’s village, Gaston, takes a posse to ‘save’ her from the beast. Gaston ends up stabbing the best. Luckily, when Belle rushes to the beast and expresses her love for him, he comes back to life again as a handsome prince.



Photo Gallery:




Production Team
Director Mark Raynes
Kirsty Kendall
Musical Director Sue Fletcher
Choreographer Kirsty Kendall
Production Co-ordinator Brett Wingfield
Stage Director Arn Maree Jenkins
Stage Manager Jodie Wood
Costume Design John Azzapardi (Whitehorse)
Set and Scenic Design Chris White (Whitehorse)
Lighting Design Jason Bovaird
Make Up Design Nicky Johnston
Sound Design Chris Angwin
Props Design Ena Hall (Whitehorse)
Assistant to the Directors Ros Williams
Costume Co-ordinator Jannette Raynes
Company Tickets Sue Dyer
Lighting Board Operator Daniel Murtagh
Lighting Floor Electrics Josh Lacey
Lighting Head Spot Operator Brendan Osbourne
Lighting Spot Operator Michael Brasser
Mal Moulivich
Sean Vournazos
Lighting Crew Megan Fitzgerald
Michael Goult
Effects Paul Congdon
Jeff Williams
Kylie Wood
Costume Assistant Cindy McMahon
Brett Wingfield
Make Up Prosthetics Anna Ciechanowski
Make Up Assistant Emma Bennett
Jaye Lanigan
Narelle Leader
Talisha McCann
Kylie McMillan
Kristie Moore
Maxine Robertson
Brooke Scantlebury
Head Flyman Scott Madden
Flyman Eric Tunks
Sound Operator Matt McIlroy
Sound Assistant Chris Fortnam
Scott Holden
Props Co-ordinator Ros Williams
Props Assistant Val Hardie
Marissa Tunks
Set Co-ordinator Alberto Salvato
Set Co-ordinator Assistant Mike Smith
Staging Sophie A’Bell
Nicole Banks
Liam Beitans
Glenn Boyd
Bill Breidahl
Scott Brownlee
Brendan Coppa
Craig Dixon
Lauren Fellows
Karen Garaway
Alex Gmelig
Serena Hawkins
Andrew Heggie
Tara Kabalan
Nicole Lylak
Mario Rapinett
Hayley Smith
Program Design Michael Fletcher
Poster Design Michael Fletcher
Rehearsal Pianist Luke Hunter
Bev Woodford
Green Room, Gifts Jan Lavender
Green Room Assistant Tiffany Brown
Video Services Rick Merrin
Conductor Sue Fletcher
Reed 1 Paul Jenkins
Reed 2 Sam Clough
Reed 3 Malcolm Huddle
Trumpet 1 Dean Pratt
Trumpet 2 Joe Tobias
Trombone Jonty Smith
Horn 1 Dave Rampant
Horn 2 Kelly Neilson
Horn 3 Paul Rankin
Violin 1 Loretta Meagher
Violin 2 Anne Beruldsen
Cello Debbie McLeod
Bass Dave Banen
Percussion Cindy Taylor
Drums Bryn Bowen
Keyboard 1 Bev Woodford
Keyboard 2 Alex Rodriguez
Keyboard 3 Kim Starr


Belle Emily Doran
Beast Mike Gardiner
Gaston Anthony Scundi
Lumiere Peter Jenkins
Cogsworth Danny Ginsberg
Mrs Potts Shirley Bowen
Chip Callum Armstrong
Maurice Colin Armstrong
Lefou Matt Perfect
Babette Maree Bennett
Madame De La Grand Bouche Pamela Charlesworth
Silly Girls Cara Johnston
Jessi Leigh
Jodi Raynes
Monsieur D’Arque Matthew Kosub
Ensemble Chris Adams
Tahlia Birnbaum
Chris Brown
Avril Campbell-Smith
Luke Dawson
Lauren DeSilva
Katrina Eley
Cassie Elliott
Rob Gaetano
Angela Ginsberg
Natalie Hall
Serenity Harbour
Petris Kains
Heath McKenzie
Trudi Mackenzie
Sarah Moorhouse
Melanie Ott
Leanne Patrone
Kim Rawiller
Michelle Smith
Raegan Smith
Cameron Sweatman
Chris Tunks
Dave Wearne
James Williams
Kate Williams