The Boy From Oz

Frankston Arts Centre

July 2009

The Boy From Oz” tells about the life of the great Australian entertainer, Peter Allen. The show starts with in the 1950’s with his humble beginnings growing up in an Australian bush town. He then experiences a meteoric rise to fame as an international star opening for Judy Garland and selling out week-long engagements at Radio City Music Hall. Later, Allen marries her Garland’s daughter, Liza Minnelli. Within a few years, Allen and Minnelli split due to Allen’s homosexuality. Eventually, Allen dies from AIDS – but before he dies, he is able to give one final concert back in his homeland.



Sue Salvato

Musical Director

Sue Fletcher


Elizabeth Garnworthy



Production Co-ordinator

Brett Wingfield



Stage Director

Arn Maree Jenkins

Stage Manager

Paul Beli



Costume Design

Sue Salvato


Brett Wingfield

Set and Scenic Design

Alberto Salvato

Lighting Design

Ben Thompson

Sound Design

Darren Golding





Lighting Programmer

Michel Boss

Lighting Operator

Michel Brasser

Head Dome Operator

Daniel Jow

Dome Operator

Peter Amesbury


Matt Duncombe


Nick Jones

Make Up Co-ordinator

Holly Driver


Natalie Coleman


Taylor Jones

Company Tickets

Sue Dyer

Cinema Advertisement

Matthew Smolen

Costume Co-ordinator

Brett Wingfield

Costume Assistant

Jo Shorton


Nerissa Saville


June Harbour


Maria Sabbatucci


Jannette Raynes


Kerry Butler


Deanne Kabalan


Mandy Lavender


Lindy McCann

Make Up Assistant

Jaye Lanigan


Kylie McMillan


Lisa Rampone

Specialty Wigs

Sue Salvato

Character Drawings

Rhonda Horwood

Head Flyman

Michael Bates

Sound Operator

Colin Armstrong

Props Co-ordinator

Ros Williams

Props Assistant

John Prendergast

Stage Props

Brett Wingfield


Alberto Salvato


Sue Salvato

Television Cameras

Mike Fletcher

Set Construction

Alberto Salvato

Painting Manager

Alberto Salvato

Set Construction/Painting

Erik Donnison


Millie Hutchings


Eric Johnstone


Rick Merrin


Pat Morton


Bruce Morton


Sue Salvato


Alberto Salvato


Mike Smith


Geoff Stephens

Stage Electrics

Alberto Salvato


Bruce Morton


Mike Smith


Peter Bates


Joshua Coleman


Craig Dixon


Ben Dudgeon


Karen Garaway


Tony Hall


Ben Klarenbeck


Josh Lacey


Nicole Lylak


Bianca Milewski


Sean Novotny


Lucy Stayner


Luke Vare

Rehearsal Pianist

Cameron Thomas


Bernard Maude

Program Design

Kylie McMillan


Mike Fletcher

Data Projections

Matthew Smolen

Effects Co-ordinator

Kylie Wood

Green Room Manager

Jan Lavender

Green Room Assistants

Frances Boyd


Helen Brown


Chris Congdon


Carole Cuthbertson


Chris Brown


Mike Fletcher


Angela Ginsberg


Kylie McMillan




Darren Steel


Bryn Bowen


Dave Benen

Keyboard 1

Bernard Maude

Keyboard 2

Craig Minty


Richard Annable


Frank Blakiston

Trumpet 1

Dean Pratt

Trumpet 2

Alistair Neil

Woodwind 1

Paul Jenkins

Woodwind 2

Andrew Corbel

Woodwind 3

Glenn Taylor


Peter Allen

Steven Rostron

Young Peter

James Dormer

Marion Woolnough

Shirley Bowen

Judy Garland

Liz Catford

Liza Minelli

Emily Doran

Greg Connell

James Davies

Trio – Karen

Tara Kabalan

Trio – Linelle

Louise Kuchmar

Trio – Sherna

Melanie Ott

Dick Woolnough

David Wearne

Dee Anthony & Wally Bell

Danny Ginsberg

Valarie Anthony

Marissa Tunks

Josie Mann

Jo Corbel

Chris Bell

Chris Tunks


Chris Brown


Isabella Colman


Lauren DeSilva


Sarah Fortman


Gina Goss


Kirsty Hall


Millie Hutchings


Serenity Harbour


Kristy Kendall


Angie Lang


Angela Mathews


Bronwyn McMillan


Stephanie Poon


Kim Rawiller


Brad Reader


Nicholas Rees


Ashley Roussety


Michelle Smith


Matthew Smolen


Chris St Clair


James Willams